

## STATE OF OKLAHOMA

# WORKERS' COMPENSATION COMMISSION

MINUTES

of the

# WORKERS' COMPENSATION COMMISSION

FOR THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA

for the

October 4, 2016

Special Public Meeting

MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE WORKERS' COMPENSATION COMMISSION FOR THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA

The members of the Workers' Compensation Commission for the state of Oklahoma met at 1915 N. Stiles Ave., Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, on October 4, 2016.

Members present: Chairman Robert Gilliland, Commissioner Mark Liotta and Commissioner Jordan Russell. Others in attendance on behalf of the Commission: Kim Bailey, Stormy Moore and Tiffany Pratt.

Chairman Gilliland expressed appreciation for those in attendance. After the roll was taken, he announced the presence of a quorum and the Statement of Compliance with the Open Meeting Act was read. The meeting was called to order at approximately 1:30 p.m.

# 1. <u>Approval of Minutes</u>

Chairman Gilliland presented the minutes of the September 29, 2016 special public meeting for approval.

*Motion*: Commissioner Liotta moved to approve the minutes of the September 29, 2016 special public meeting.

**Second:** Chairman Gilliland.

Those voting aye: Commissioner Liotta and Chairman Gilliland. Abstain: Commissioner Russell

## The motion carried.

## 2. Consent Agenda for Travel Vouchers Currently Outstanding

85A O.S. §23 states any commissioner or employee of the Commission shall be entitled to receive his or her necessary traveling expenses as provided in the State Travel Reimbursement Act. The expenses shall be certified by the person who incurred them and shall be allowed and paid on presentation of vouchers approved by the Commission. In accordance with this section, the Commission considered a vote to approve the currently outstanding vouchers.

*Motion*: Commissioner Liotta moved to approve the travel vouchers currently outstanding.

Second: Chairman Gilliland.

Those voting aye: Commissioner Liotta, Commissioner Russell, and Chairman Gilliland.

## The motion carried.

## 3. Discussion and Consideration of Vice Chair Position

It is necessary for the Commission to have a Commissioner perform the Chair's responsibilities in the event the Chairman is unavailable. The Commission considered approving a Vice Chair of the Commission.

*Motion*: Chairman Gilliland moved to continue item until a future date as more information is needed regarding the Vice Chair position.

### **Second:** Chairman Liotta.

Those voting aye: Commissioner Liotta, Commissioner Russell, and Chairman Gilliland.

#### The motion carried.

4. <u>Executive Session Pursuant to Title 25 O.S. § 307(B)(1) for the purpose of discussing employment evaluations and performance of the Administrative Division staff: Holly Miller, Tiffany Pratt and Aubri Wiley.</u>

Executive Session for Confidential Communications Between the Commission and Its Attorneys Concerning a Pending Permit Renewal Action Involving Individual Self-Insured McCurtain Memorial Medical Management Inc., (#1358), Pursuant to Title 25 O.S. § 307(B)(4)

## A. The Commission Considered a Motion and Vote to:

- (1) Determine that disclosure will seriously impair the ability of the Commission to take appropriate action and to protect the Commission's interest in an action concerning pending permit renewal involving individual self-insured McCurtain Memorial Medical Management Inc. (# 1358); and
- (2) Go into Executive Session for the purposes of: (i) Discussing the employment evaluations and performance of the of the Administrative Division staff: Holly Miller, Tiffany Pratt and Aubri Wiley under 25 O.S. § 307(B)(1).

**Motion:** Chairman Gilliland moved to (a) continue the action for a future date the pending permit renewal involving individual self-insured McCurtain Memorial Medical Management and moved to vote to go into Executive Session regarding the employment evaluations and performance of the Administrative Division staff: Holly Miller, Tiffany Pratt and Aubri Wiley.

#### Second: Commissioner Liotta.

Those voting aye: Commissioner Liotta, Commissioner Russell, and Chairman Gilliland.

### The motion carried.

### Vote to Reconvene in Open Session

*Motion*: Commissioner Liotta moved to reconvene the public meeting in Open Session.

Second: Commissioner Russell.

Those voting aye: Commissioner Liotta, Commissioner Russell, and Chairman Gilliland.

#### The motion carried.

#### **Discussion and Action from Executive Session**

No action was taken with regard to the employment evaluations and performance of the Administrative Division staff: Holly Miller, Tiffany Pratt and Aubri Wiley.

#### Announcements

The next Regular Meeting of the Commission is scheduled for October 20, 2016.

## <u>Adjournment</u>

*Motion*: Commissioner Liotta moved to adjourn.

Second: Commissioner Russell.

Those voting aye: Commissioner Liotta, Commissioner Russell, and Chairman Gilliland.

## The motion carried.

Chairman Gilliland announced the meeting was adjourned.